The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Show and Tell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Summertime (Gershwin) (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=252576)

Gerhard Gschossmann 05-23-2012 01:07 PM

Summertime (Gershwin)

Hi,
I am new to this forum and found "show and tell", where other guitar players show their playing. Thatīs very interesting for me.

Allthough I am no professional player, I did compose some pieces and I also do some arrangements of jazz standards for solo guitar.
Here is my version of Gershwinīs summertime - I hope you like it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bt8Du..._order&list=UL

Many greetings from Germany
Gerhard

Hockgow 05-23-2012 02:28 PM

I really enjoyed it. Well done

stevejazzx 05-23-2012 02:40 PM

I enjoyed that a lot, great playing - will now steal your ideas for my arrangement!:)

mesa 05-23-2012 09:18 PM

I liked it very much, Gerhard. Very nice playing.....Welcome to AGF!

ljguitar 05-23-2012 10:10 PM

Hi Gerhard...

First of all, Hello and Welcome to the Forum!

Wow what a wonderful arrangement!

How did you go about arranging it?

Kerbie 05-24-2012 04:47 AM

That's great, Gerhard! I really enjoyed it and hope you will post some more. My favorite Gershwin tune. Thanks for sharing.

Gerhard Gschossmann 05-24-2012 03:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ljguitar (Post 3050594)
Hi Gerhard...

First of all, Hello and Welcome to the Forum!

Wow what a wonderful arrangement!

How did you go about arranging it?

Hi,
sometimes it is quite easy for me to find an entry to arrange a song. In other times it takes me a lot of trying.... With Summertime after a couple of efforts I finally found a piano score, that brought me to the first 2 chords of the intro (no straight chords but a kind mixing the harmony ... and that was my entry for this piece, the rest I found out in a couple of hours ....