The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Guitar and Vocal training. (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=292732)

Scotch 04-22-2013 02:47 AM

Guitar and Vocal training.

Hello folks.

I've been playing guiar for 5 years and within that time i've always kept an idea what i want to achieve and it was to be able to listen to a song and play it back. I've seen where i can define chords when i hear them but still struggle which key they are in, i can hear certain notes but still sturggle to play back a simple melody.
I know some people are naturally gifted to this to an extent but for someone with no musical background or talents is there way to quicken this or will as it always be just to take my time?

Also in recent time i've started to come off my difficult arrangements and now go into singing. It's not a where i want to sing well. I want to sing a song well enought where people find me bareable :) I particullarly sing some modern folk/ indy stuff bu mainly country so John Mayer, Brad Paisley, Johnny Cash. Just some to give you an idea. Problem is i don't have access to a singing teacher, if i did i would go ahead. Also i don't have the biggest pocket to spend money on equipment etc.
I would love to find a way just to let me know if i'm in key or if i just sound okay.

Thanks folks.

stanron 04-22-2013 03:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scotch (Post 3443930)
Hello folks.

I've been playing guiar for 5 years and within that time i've always kept an idea what i want to achieve and it was to be able to listen to a song and play it back. I've seen where i can define chords when i hear them but still struggle which key they are in, i can hear certain notes but still sturggle to play back a simple melody.