The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Show and Tell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Help with teaching!!! (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23647)

12strings 06-07-2003 09:18 AM

Help with teaching!!!

I have 12 year old who wants to take guitar lessons from me, and after the first lesson, i reallized i don't really know where to start him at, should i start with chords, or single notes?
should i get him a book? if so, which one?
should I have him read music notes? Tab?

Should i give him a CD of Dave matthews songs and say "go learn these"? :)

any help would be appreciated.

-andy

theNorwegian 06-07-2003 09:58 AM

I'm still new to guitar myself but have already inspired a few others to start playing. (If I can, they can). Anyway, as I'm not qualified to "teach" guitar, I more put them on the idea, and let them figgure it out mostly by themselves and then guide them where I can.

Anyway, I have found out that teaching them a few easy intro's like "I wish you were here" with Pink Floyd o.l. is a good idea, as they then are able to play something that's easy, but at the same time sounds cool.

I really don't know the best way to teach someone, but throw in a easy lick here and there, it really boost their motivation.

For the rest I'd like the answers to this thread as much as you.

MichaelM 06-07-2003 11:12 AM

I'm not a teacher, but as an adult student of guitar I'd recommend that you do a combination of things....i.e. a bit of theory and scales a few chords and some songs.

While I think the theory and basics are important, if the students doesn't feel like they're making progress or doing something they want to do then that's a negative!