The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Zoom R8 Question (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=534285)

CASD57 01-11-2019 07:04 AM

Zoom R8 Question
 
I just got an AT2020 that needs phantom power
According to the manual for the Zoom, Phantom power will be supplied to inputs one and Two
Does that mean I can't use a Dynamic mic like an SM57 and the AT2020 at the same time?
Or is the Phantom power on a un-used connector for Dynamic mic's?

TBman 01-11-2019 07:06 AM

I have a Zoom H5 and the menu allows you to apply phantom power to each mic individually or to both.

CASD57 01-11-2019 08:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TBman (Post 5945033)
I have a Zoom H5 and the menu allows you to apply phantom power to each mic individually or to both.

The manual says it turns it on for both inputs, I'll look the manual over closer to see maybe internal or externally i can shut one off, or buy another condenser mic lol

Hoyt 01-11-2019 08:14 AM

I have an R8 too. When activated, the phantom power goes to both mic inputs, but the phantom power will not affect dynamic mics like the SM57. So, you can use your SM57 without damage to the mic or deterioration of recorded sound.

Nowadays, lots of recorders supply phantom power to both channels when the PP switch is activated.

As I understand it, there is a chance phantom power could damage a ribbon mic.

Rudy4 01-11-2019 08:16 AM

Phantom power will not normally damage a dynamic mic. Here's some further reading:

https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/ph...ic-mics-again/

I've plugged dynamics into my R24 (phantom power on) with absolutely no ill effects.

FYI, "modern" ribbons that have built-in circuitry won't be damaged by phantom power.

RustyAxe 01-11-2019 10:07 AM

Not a problem with any dynamic mic. Phantom power can destroy ribbon mics, though.

ljguitar 01-11-2019 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CASD57 (Post 5945028)
I just got an AT2020 that needs phantom power
According to the manual for the Zoom, Phantom power will be supplied to inputs one and Two
Does that mean I can't use a Dynamic mic like an SM57 and the AT2020 at the same time?

Hi CASD57

You CAN most definitely use an SM-57 and AT-2020 at the same time with the phantom power on. Phantom power is only dangerous to ribbon mics. And when exploring mics, I've never seen a ribbon mic that was not clearly marked with the word RIBBON in either it's name of product description.




Rudy4 01-12-2019 05:11 PM

ARG!

There's so much misinformation about ribbons that I hate to see this parroted.

The ONLY ribbons that are sensitive to phantom power are the "original" ribbon designs that did not have FET front ends, transformers, or built-in preamps.
If your "ribbon" is of the vintage variety you're most likely a LOT higher up the food chain than an R8!

If you DO have a ribbon and you're remotely concerned about this, simply contact the manufacturer and ask if phantom power can harm your particular ribbon.

CASD57 01-13-2019 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rudy4 (Post 5946659)
ARG!



There's so much misinformation about ribbons that I hate to see this parroted.



The ONLY ribbons that are sensitive to phantom power are the "original" ribbon designs that did not have FET front ends, transformers, or built-in preamps.

If your "ribbon" is of the vintage variety you're most likely a LOT higher up the food chain than an R8!



If you DO have a ribbon and you're remotely concerned about this, simply contact the manufacturer and ask if phantom power can harm your particular ribbon.

Nope, no ribbon, but my AT2020 came and im having fun with that today


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, The Acoustic Guitar Forum

vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=