The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Carbon Fiber (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   new to carbon fiber looking at cargo. help (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=546270)

varmonter 05-08-2019 07:00 AM

new to carbon fiber looking at cargo. help

As the title says im new to cf world.
I would like a cargo . as it sounds pretty good
on utube and its small. I need a pickup and was
wondering what types were put in these guitars
over the years, and which pup youall think was
the best. Obviously a soundhole pup is out of the
question. But from what ive read there has been a multitude
of factory pups installed in these. Also from what ive read
there was some issues hit and miss with necks moving
in the earlier CA models and difference in tone with the finishes.
The RT finish being prefered. which is not produced by peavey.
Is the raw close to the Rt in tone?

Methos1979 05-08-2019 07:34 AM

I don't have a lot to say to help you as I've never owned or played any Cargo CF guitar but I will say that I saw a guy playing one a few months back at a couple open mics and it sounded really, REALLY good amplified. So whatever they put in that was really good. It was more of a full size model, not the smaller travel one. If I run into him again I'll ask him about the model and pickup system.

penny 05-08-2019 07:48 AM

I have a RT Cargo and regret having the K&K pickup installed. I have that same pickup in most of my wood guitars and it sounded great, but it just doesn’t work well in the Cargo. Love the guitar, tho.

Guest 928 05-08-2019 09:01 AM

I've owned two Cargos. They were both good guitars, but I would recommend the Peavey version. Peavey put a lot of effort into improving the fit and finish of the guitar and it paid off in a great instrument.

Red_Label 05-08-2019 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EvanB (Post 6056971)