The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electric Guitars (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Extension Cabinet for Bugera V5 (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=650715)

SCVJ 08-05-2022 12:54 PM

Extension Cabinet for Bugera V5

I'm a novice when it comes to amps. I just bought a new Bugera V5 Infinium, and read somewhere that adding a 1x12 cabinet would give a bigger sound than the 8" speaker in the small amp. This seems like a better idea than upgrading the stock 8" speaker. This is a 5W tube amp, and it seems there is an output jack for an external speaker.

I only play at home, in the basement usually, so if it's a little loud that's not a problem. The stock speaker is loud enough, but I don't want to spend $ unless I'll be able to hear an improvement in tone. I may go to an open mic or a jam occasionally, probably only playing rhythm behind a friend. I play classic blues, country and classic rock. Not interested in heavy distortion, metal, etc. I'm not an experienced electric player, and don't have some fixed idea bout how I want this rig to sound. I also have four guitars, Strat, Tele, Les Paul and Jazzmaster copies with HB and P-90 p-ups, so a wide variety. At this point I'm easy to please on tone, and can upgrade later if I become more picky.

I've got several questions:

1. Will this small amp drive a 12" speaker? The ones I'm considering are 8 or 16 ohm, rated at 60-80W. I am familiar with the spkr efficiency concept.

2. At the output jack for the amp, it says "minimum 4 ohm". So 8 or 16 ohm should work, but is one better than the other?

3. Is a 60W rating better than 80 W for such a low powered amp?

Any suggestions and opinions are welcome. I'm definitely not planning to spend more than $200, and used is okay, but I live in a rural area, so there's not much used gear available.

Thanks for your help!