The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electric Guitars (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   broke the high E string (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=549472)

RockyRacc00n 06-13-2019 06:08 PM

broke the high E string

I’m new to electric guitar. I’m an acoustic player, used to mediums on my dreads. Today I broke the high E string while practicing some licks that have a whole step bend (from C to D, to give you an idea where I want bending). The string were pretty new. I believe they were 9’s. Felt pretty skimpy compared the the 13’s on my dreads. So I guess I am not surprised it snapped but the strings weren’t old or worn out. Or could I have been doing something wrong in my newbie way of bending the high E string?

YamahaGuy 06-13-2019 06:47 PM

Some strat bridges have very sharp edges on the block and the bridge plate that make strings more likely to break. Check the hole where the string goes through the bridge for sharp edges, assuming it's a strat and the string broke near the bridge. If that is the case, a small file will do the trick to smooth off the edge and your strings will last longer.

RockyRacc00n 06-13-2019 06:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by YamahaGuy (Post 6086154)
Some strat bridges have very sharp edges on the block and the bridge plate that make strings more likely to break. Check the hole where the string goes through the bridge for sharp edges, assuming it's a strat and the string broke near the bridge. If that is the case, a small file will do the trick to smooth off the edge and your strings will last longer.

Actually, it snapped somewhere around the 15th fret. Should’ve mentioned that in the original post. And yes. It’s a strat.

YamahaGuy 06-13-2019 07:16 PM