The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Other Musical Instruments (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   beginner banjo scale length question (playability) (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=446881)

JimmyJeff1 10-20-2016 07:10 AM

beginner banjo scale length question (playability)

I am starting to explore the banjo a bit, and as an early intermediate guitarist I've found that I find short scale guitars significantly more playable; 24.75 is my preference and I can feel a clear difference between that and my 25 1/2" Taylor GA, not to mention something standard scale. Since my hands are small and my fingers not especially stretched out (and since I'm starting into this middle age), how should this impact my choice of banjo scale length? Or for that matter, if scale length seems to influence playability for me on guitars to this extent, should I even try banjo? I know playability is determined by additional factors and I don't have a good feel for how the narrowness of a banjo neck might positively impact my ability to work with a longer scale, for example.

I realize some of this will be resolved by exploring the instrument, but I have to buy something initially. My default plan at this stage is to get a Deering Goodtime open back, but I thought I would seek some input first.

cu4life7 10-20-2016 12:48 PM

First off the the Deering Goodtime open back is a fantastic starter banjo. I really enjoyed mine, and it served me wonderfully. I kind of wish I had kept it so I would have a campfire banjo, but either way...