The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Other Musical Instruments (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Building A Ukulele (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=612272)

crokett 04-08-2021 06:44 AM

Building A Ukulele

I am in the planning stages of building a ukulele. My daughter and I built one of StewMac's tenor kits last summer. We had a lot of fun and it sounds better than the concert size I have. It is also more comfortable than my concert size. I want to build another one, from scratch. I'm an experienced woodworker but have never built an instrument.

My uke will have a mahogany back and sides and a spruce top. I have maple I will use as a neck. A few questions to start with, and I'm sure I will have more. I have some figured hard dense wood that I want to use as a fretboard. It is a MM or two thinner than the fretboards on my other ukes. If used it i would need to lower the height of the nut and saddle to get the action I like. Would that make a difference for sound?

For bending the sides, I'm planning a pineaple shape, so the only sharp bends will be at the neck and bridge ends of the body. Is it possible just to soak them for several hours and clamp them in a form? They're thinner than what is used for a guitar - .09" finished thickness. I can also use a hot pipe.

Rudy4 04-08-2021 07:28 AM

Here's a plan that I drew up in CAD that might help you if you need critical measurements.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-sj...ew?usp=sharing

https://i.imgur.com/hMRxNv9.jpg

Your board thickness can be accomodated when you do your set up, but it should be OK in any case.

crokett 04-08-2021 09:16 AM

thank you. that will help a lot. My plan was to take my measurements from the one I built using the Stewmac kit.

martinedwards 04-08-2021 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crokett (Post 6685021)