The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Still tripping over a chord after 40 years! (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=559689)

raysachs 10-04-2019 09:26 AM

Still tripping over a chord after 40 years!

Man, please tell me I'm not alone in this. I've been playing guitar since 1977. In fairness, I barely played between about 1987 and 2017 - lost my callouses not long after my first daughter was born and only played enough to almost get them back for a month or two a couple of times over those 30 years of barely playing. And I've been playing a ton again for the past three years or so.

And I STILL freaking trip over the Bm chord. I'm not a great musician or player, but I'm long since proficient at the cowboy chords and pretty much any barre chord shape all over the neck. I have a decent feel as a rhythm player. The Bm is kind of a hybrid between an open chord and a barre chord - you can play it as a barre but I've never been as good as switching between barre chords, which I play primarily on electric and open chords, which I play mostly on acoustic. The F chord is very similar and seems to be one that a lot of beginners have trouble with, but I've never had any problem with it since the earliest days. Any other slightly less common open chord I learned when I started needing it pretty early on and honestly, I play them all without thinking and change pretty smoothly almost always, except for the occasional clam.