The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Lost my vocal range-please advise (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=648103)

guitargabor 06-12-2022 08:34 AM

Lost my vocal range-please advise

I am a singer/songwriter type guitarist
Two weeks ago I played at one of my regular gigs .Everything was fine then...My voice is the strongest part of my musicianship.

Yesterday, I was unable to sing half of my usual repertoire.I have lost about 2 whole tones (about 4-5 semi-tones)of my higher range singing notes!

During the intervening two weeks I went on a fishing trip and had to travel across country.

Has any else had such a dramatic and sudden change of vocal range?

I would appreciate any insight or advise!

Thanks,

Gabe

ljguitar 06-12-2022 08:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by guitargabor (Post 7021261)
Two weeks ago I played at one of my regular gigs .Everything was fine then...My voice is the strongest part of my musicianship.

Yesterday, I was unable to sing half of my usual repertoire.I have lost about 2 whole tones (about 4-5 semi-tones)of my higher range singing notes!

During the intervening two weeks I went on a fishing trip and had to travel across country.

Thanks,

Gabe

Hi Gabe…
Throats/voice cords are subject to stress just like other muscles in our bodies.

I used to lose my voice regularly in my 20s and was having problems with throat infections. After some months of consultation, it was decided that the doctors would start by removing my tonsils, and it totally cleared it up.

If I get throat infections (rare these days even in my 70s), I may lose my voice for 3-4 days, but it has always returned strong. I hope the same for you.