The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Thoughts on how to get better? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=636842)

JackDaniel 01-13-2022 12:52 AM

Thoughts on how to get better?

Hey all.
I'm looking for ideas for how to improve my playing. I've been playing for about ten or 15 years. Started in a church with a little group and since then basically play some cowboy chords to accompany singing since church worship songs. I'm quite adept at the stuff I know and can and quite well, but I'm sort of stuck getting any better than that. I've considered lessons but with 3 little kiddos I find it hard to find time.

So, I bring it before yall. Any ideas how to get better or even what to work on to improve? I know that's a broad and vague question...

NickyJ 01-13-2022 01:16 AM

If you can tolerate spending time at a computer and like video learning, Truefire.com is a really good way to improve. It has lots of variety and is well designed for people who already have skills that make it easier to branch out.

It gives great structure that can take some of the cognitive lift out of practice and improvement. Just pick the genre and find a course, and you're off to the races. I'm sure there are other great platforms, but this is one that has worked well for me.