The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Archtops (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Strings for Acoustic and Amped Tones (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=622041)

DaveLeeNC 07-29-2021 07:49 AM

Strings for Acoustic and Amped Tones

What are some good strings for use on a guitar (Eastman AR905 - carved top) that is played both acoustically and amplified?

I am just exiting a multi-year 'classical guitar only' phase so don't have well developed sonic tastes WRT archtop tone. Just looking for suggestions as a place to start my own experiments.

Thanks.

dave

Silly Moustache 07-29-2021 11:23 AM

Hi, I'm no expert on archtops (although I have three!)
(d suggest nickel plated mediums (13-56).

EJ22s, or similar.
I've tried the D'add NBs which are fine for acoustic, I don't know if they work for electrics.

Steve DeRosa 07-29-2021 11:35 AM

Martin Retro Monel MM13 set (13-56) - until LaBella marketed the first flatwound strings circa 1940 monels were the go-to for the pioneering electric guitarists, and if you're looking for Big Band-era tonal vibe in both electric and acoustic mode these would be a good choice...

RLetson 07-31-2021 11:04 AM

I've had the best both-mode results with Thomastik BeBops, though the Martin Monels are OK for amplified sound. I've also tried DR Zebras and GHS White Bronze, but for various reasons I return to the Thomastiks.