The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   How to not forgetting a piece you have learned (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=161732)

Hendra 08-19-2009 08:25 PM

How to not forgetting a piece you have learned

Hi fellow AGF-er,

Eversince I started learning fingerstyle pieces, I have learnt quite some fingerstyle arrangement such as Beatles for fingerstyle, rag time arrangement etc. Everytime I've learnt a piece and play it over and over for couple of hundred times maybe and think I have memorized it, I would move along and focusing on learning other stuff; either songs or other fingerstyle piece. The problem is, every now and then when I try to play the piece that I thought I have memorized earlier, there is always a certain part that I somehow forget how to play and ends up re-learning the particular part. Of course it's not difficult to just open the tab book or hear the original recording, but this is still annoying especially when you play for the family, friends etc.

It did occur to me that for certain piece, it seems that I was able to involve my sub-conscious to help me play certain piece even while talking. (the finger just move by itself during playing, I am sure you know what I mean)

Is there anyway or tips from you guys on how to prevent forgetting fingerstyle piece that you have learnt ? Also is there any way of putting all of those in your sub-conscious so that you can play it out easily.

Any thought or input will be very much appreciated.

SongwriterFan 08-19-2009 08:27 PM

No idea.

I know lots of PIECES of music on piano. But hardly any full songs.

I've never been known for my memory.

Glennwillow 08-19-2009 08:31 PM