The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Wondering about the values and drawbacks of trying to learn bass guitar. (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=510138)

rmoretti49 05-11-2018 01:52 PM

Wondering about the values and drawbacks of trying to learn bass guitar.

From time to time I muse about trying to learn bass guitar. I don't know why, since I don't gig anywhere, and mostly confine my playing to my home. I've been playing regular guitar for over 50 years, and still have a lot to learn there. But somehow the idea of playing a short-scale acoustic bass seems like an appealing addition.

For those of you who took up playing bass after you had already been playing guitar, are there any drawbacks? Is it likely to affect my playing of standard guitar. I guess I'm kind of hoping that adding the bass will actually contribute positively to my playing of standard guitar.

What has been your experience?

D-utim 05-11-2018 02:10 PM

Started with the bass, then guitar. Going the other way round shouldn't matter.

jman60 05-11-2018 02:28 PM

Drawbacks, I don't believe so. If anything it will help
you learn scales. I guess one drawback if you will is that
you won't spend as much time on your main guitar.
Other than that it's not a bad thing at all.

I did play bass after I started on guitar many years ago,
mainly out of need and I really liked it. Got in a few bands
as a bass player.

Good luck!!

JeffreyAK 05-11-2018 02:38 PM