The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Build and Repair (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Luthiers!!=saddle height ratios? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=541681)

AcousticDreams 03-20-2019 12:50 PM

Luthiers!!=saddle height ratios?

I have been making my own saddles for a couple of years now and really enjoying it. I have Mituyo non digital Calipers for replicating accurate measurements on my saddles.
What is exact ratio of Saddle Height, to String Height at the 12ft? I know that it is not a one to one ratio, as the string travels across the fret board to the saddle via a right triagle.
As an example; if I shave down 20 thousands on the saddle, how much will it lower the string height at the 12th fret?
I am working a little bit differently. I sand the top of the saddle so I an adjust Individual string heights. Much like you would with an electric guitar. ( after sanding the top, I have to thin the ridge, as I have now thickened it up a tiny bit.
Worked on a saddle the other day, and had to loosen the strings Six times to get the heights I wanted. Too much work! Knowing the exact ratio would save lots of time.

justonwo 03-20-2019 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knives&Guitars (Post 6013005)
I have been making my own saddles for a couple of years now and really enjoying it. I have Mituyo non digital Calipers for replicating accurate measurements on my saddles.
What is exact ratio of Saddle Height, to String Height at the 12ft? I know that it is not a one to one ratio, as the string travels across the fret board to the saddle via a right triagle.
As an example; if I shave down 20 thousands on the saddle, how much will it lower the string height at the 12th fret?