The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Flatpicking vs thumbpicking opinion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=536633)

ctvolfan 02-01-2019 01:34 PM

Flatpicking vs thumbpicking opinion

I'm sure this subject has been covered numerous times on here. I am a flatpicker and always have been. It's just that when I started playing when I was young I thought you only played guitar with a pick. I have dabbled in fingerpicking and have progressed some but I have a long way to go. Dust In The Wind has been my intro to Travis Picking. I have that one down okay but have yet to translate that into other tunes. I really have trouble getting those other fingers to work in alternating rhythm. As many have stated here in the past, I just have trouble finding the patience to try to stop doing what I am so comfortable doing to try to get bogged down learning something else like fingerpicking. It is as if I am wasting valuable playing time struggling through a totally different technique as opposed to immediately playing something I am familiar with as soon as I pick up the guitar. I am stubborn, lazy and impatient.

But I must say, I am incredibly envious of fingerpickers. It just seems like you can get a lot more complexity from fingerpicking as opposed to flatpicking. I have compensated for this somewhat as I have through the years unknowingly developed my own playing technique only to find out it has been discovered before and that is called hybrid picking. I get so much more out of a guitar when I can pluck a bass string with my pick and pluck a treble string with my ring finger. Sometime I just rake the ring finger over a couple of treble strings to get a fuller sound.