The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Regarding New Breedlove and String Height (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=557000)

LisieDee 09-06-2019 06:22 PM

Regarding New Breedlove and String Height

Hi All!

So I'm still on a quest for "THE" guitar. I started playing when I was 12 but stopped for years and have just recently picked it up again.

I bought a little Mahogany Taylor travel guitar to practice on just to make sure that I wanted to apply myself and learn. :)

The Taylor is fun, but I want a larger guitar too.
(Can't have enough, right?:D )

So I think I have looked at and played about a thousand guitars now.
I'm totally in love with the tone of the Martins, but my main focus is learning Bluegrass and I think the tone is a little deep for it. (Also, while I love the sound of a Martin, I don't like the patterns much. (You seem to get either a choice of boring or sunburst.)
What can I say? I'm a girl and I'm finicky and want my guitar to be pretty!

SO...I found a Breedlove that I absolutely LOVE as far as the looks. I played a few similar ones and the tone sounds somewhere between a Martin and a Taylor, which is perfect.
(I don't care about resale value, so whether it's a Martin name doesn't matter to me.)

The issue is the string height and playability. The strings on this particular guitar are so high that it kills my fingers to make a chord.
The dude at the Guitar Center says that it's because the neck is "slightly "U" shaped" and the factory makes it this way. ????
I've never heard of or seen that explanation.

What is the best way to address this? Should I trust the technician at Guitar Center to fix it, or find someone I know I can trust?

Also, in trying to do a short slide, the neck isn't smooth.
Does this improve with playing?