The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   RECORD (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Critique this short recording (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=530471)

JakeStone 12-05-2018 04:06 PM

Critique this short recording

Edit - Also skip to post #12 .. I uploaded a newer recording.

This is short recording of me testing some new equipment.
I just recorded it with the Spire Studio, iPad and 2 mics.
Mics were AT2035 and MXL990 set up in XY position..

I realize there are limitations due to the room, gear, player etc,,,

But was wondering what you all thought of the recording?
My ears are a little fatigued.. (go easy, I am fairly new to this stuff)

It seems a little bright....
Does it sound decent? (not the playing :D)

Any and all comments and suggestions are welcome!

Here's a photo of my little setup.
https://i.imgur.com/48XodB0l.jpg

Thx!

Mods let me know if this is not right place for this

runamuck 12-05-2018 06:05 PM

I think it sound fine. Maybe a little bright but it all depends on what else is going on the the arrangement.

sdelsolray 12-05-2018 06:11 PM

This is a decent recording. On the plus side, the typical proximity effect from cardioid mics that close to the source is mostly absent resulting is a balanced presentation of low, mid and high frequencies. On the minus side, I can hear your room in the recording and the low and high mid frequencies and the low high frequencies sound a bit harsh (i.e., less smooth than the guitar probably generates all by itself).

JakeStone 12-05-2018 07:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by runamuck (Post 5910172)
I think it sound fine. Maybe a little bright but it all depends on what else is going on the the arrangement.

Thanks runamuck..

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdelsolray (Post 5910180)
This is a decent recording.