The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Fishman Artist wierdness (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=538488)

sbmackie 02-18-2019 02:57 PM

Fishman Artist wierdness

Channel 2 on my artist, both XLR and 1/4 inch, is way, way hotter then Channel 1. With either a guitar or mic plugged in, moving the channel gain off the stop more then about 1 clock postion from off causes massive volume change, feedback, etc. Channel 1 operates absolutely normally. The Fishman documentation doesn't indicate anything like this. Bought used from Guitar Center about 6 months ago. It's been happening since I bought it, but I've worked around it by keeping the gain and master volume way down, and bringing the gain on channel 1 where I've got the mic plugged in way up.
I'm new to this amplification thing. Got an email in at Fishman, but not open today.
Any ideas?
Scott

rmp 02-18-2019 04:17 PM

Make sure the PAD button is not engaged (pushed in) on the channel that is not as loud as the other. It's the little button right next to the inputs...

sbmackie 02-18-2019 05:09 PM

pad button

Quote:

Originally Posted by rmp (Post 5983568)
Make sure the PAD button is not engaged (pushed in) on the channel that is not as loud as the other. It's the little button right next to the inputs...

Yes, I have had them both in, both out, one or the other in or out. The PAD button functions on the suspect channel, but it is still way, way over gaining.
Scott

Howard Emerson 02-19-2019 06:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sbmackie (Post 5983486)