The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   New to Forum and Guitar (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=500182)

DBruce 02-14-2018 09:42 AM

New to Forum and Guitar

Hi,
Just retired not to long ago. I am wanting to learn guitar for my own pleasure. I have been looking on the forum for about a month now, a lot of information here. I would like to get into fingerstyle guitar, but cannot find a course for absolute beginners. I see that a lot of people here recommend Justinguitar for learning the basics, so I think that is what I will do, then try fingerstyle. Any way, just wanted to say hi to everyone.
DBruce

Gitarre 02-14-2018 10:38 AM

Hey DBruce. Welcome here. Enjoy your retirement, you'll find yourself wondering how you ever got things done when you worked. I'm no one to give advice on guitar other than it can be a long slow process. Justinguitar gets lots of information but I found taking lessons to be very helpful. Enjoy your journey.

ManyMartinMan 02-14-2018 10:58 AM

Welcome to the group and your retirement. You don't show where you are but if you enlighten us, someone in that general area may know of a great teacher/instructor you can visit for lessons. Unless you are amazingly self-motivated, I believe most people benefit greatly with in-person instruction.

islandguitar 02-14-2018 10:59 AM

DBruce....Congrats on retirement and welcome. Lots of info here and elsewhere.....if it works for you financially, play the very best guitar you can afford (IMO) so you can enjoy listening to your sounds while learning, and make sure it is set up well for your playing. I believe it makes a difference.
Many have found Justin to be spot on for their needs. Regards,
Fred

DBruce 02-15-2018 05:25 AM

Thanks for the welcome