The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-06-2006, 05:38 PM

Default Full Size Guitar vs. 3/4 Size Guitar

I am a beginner, let's get that out there.

Okay, so I bought a Jasmine S-33 Full Sized guitar however I have very small hands and am worried that learning the guitar on this style will hinder my progress and become a hard process.

I'm looking at taking my guitar back and getting either an Alveraz or Ibanez 3/4 size acoustic guitar - and I just wanna know what the difference is in the sound between a full size and 3/4 size guitar.

Thanks. Oh and will learning on a 3/4 size be a lot easier than a full-size?

I'm 17, but my hands are smaller than msot girls I know. Just to give you an idea.

Last edited by Stretch3; 12-06-2006 at 06:01 PM.
Old 12-06-2006, 06:34 PM

Default ..

bump. thanks.
Old 12-06-2006, 06:40 PM

Default I wouldn't go 3/4...

You'd have no where to grow-id play a few and then compare them to something in the 000 or OM size category. Those are Orchestral models of various sizes that are bigger than a 3/4 but smaller in waist (depth) and overall size then a full on dread. You might get lucky and find a slender necked dread out there as well-I think Seagull makes one that you can find on Elderly.com, along with a Folk model that is slightly smaller as well, and one called the Grand which is just dreamy in sound, but pretty tiny. Taylor makes a 3/4 and a 5/6th ish sized one called the Big Baby. I dont know your hand size, but as you progress you might find a 3/4 too small, though there are dedicated 3/4 size players on the board that Im sure can defend their positions just as well. I would seek out some alternate sized models and see how they feel since only you know where you want to go, how fast you want to play, and what size you can comfortably hold.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion,