The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-18-2006, 01:42 PM

Default Best sized guitar for a 10 year old?

My grandson wants to learn guitar. My question is, should I buy him a ¾-size nylon stringed guitar? He is 10 years old and on the smaller side of most his age? I started playing this fall, a full sized Dreadnaught guitar seems huge to me, and I am over 200lbs. I’m looking at a Stagg SW240 for him, any thoughts?

Thanks Danny
Old 11-18-2006, 03:32 PM

I have an 11 year old daughter that started out with an ovation. The neck seemed OK, but she struggled with the body size. She then played a Little Martin LXM and liked it a lot. It's a great sounding guitar for a smaller body. It's also inexpensive and will take a lot of abuse. She has now decided that the Martin is too small and has started playing our Gibson CJ165, which she loves.
Old 11-18-2006, 04:25 PM

While I am not small I think my Epiphone EL00 is a great size. It isnt as small as the Martin LXM so probably wont become too small for him as he progresses. I like the smaller size because of a shoulder injury. It is a short scale guitar so the frets are closer together and the strings are a bit closer.

Martin 00-28VS custom

http://feathersprings.fischerworks.com
Old 11-18-2006, 04:38 PM

IMO a child this young does not have the hand strength to play as yet.
Perhaps if they only learn and play the last three stings until such time they might comfortably play.
The innocent push of a child might well have the opposite effect if you know what I mean.

Regards, Jack
Old 11-18-2006, 04:47 PM

Nylon strings are easier on a beginner's fingers, but a great many people start their playing on steel strings without problem.

Beside size, three other factors might be good to consider: