The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-22-2013, 10:28 PM

Default Rosewood vs Mahogany

These two back and side woods seem to be two of the most common. What is the big difference between the two? Where does one have advantages over the other? Which is more suited for a picking on the couch at home. Or is the most important difference personal preference? Which do all of y'all prefer?
Old 05-22-2013, 10:48 PM
Charter Member

I think you might be well suited to do a search for mahogany versus rosewood. There have been a LOT of threads on this. I own one of both and like them both for different reasons. I'm not good at describing sounds, so I won't try. I'll just say that they each have positives and negatives, but mostly positives. I generally enjoy strumming my rosewood guitar more and flatpicking my mahogany guitar. But, they are both good for either task. When I record, I tend to use the D28 (rosewood) for the rhythm and the Blueridge BR140A (mahogany) for lead. But, it also has a lot to do with nut width and general overall sound.

For front porch picking or playing on the couch, or even for professional recording or live shows, either one will work just great. I recommend going to a music store and playing each and buying the one that calls your name. You'll know it when you hear it. You should also check out some comparisons of the D28 versus D18 or other rosewood/mahogany comparisons on Youtube.

Todd
Old 05-22-2013, 10:50 PM