The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-07-2012, 11:47 PM
Brendan @ Heartbreaker Guitars Brendan @ Heartbreaker Guitars is offline

Default Opinions on the Bose L1 Systems

guys, what's your opinion on this system for the money??
Old 12-08-2012, 01:28 AM

The Bose system doesn't deliver the output or the sound quality that it should for what it costs. You can do a lot better for less than Bose.
Old 12-08-2012, 02:11 AM
Charter Member

I have had a Bose L1 Model I Classic for 4 years now... bought it used with one B1 (subwoofer), a T1 tone generator/mixer and a new Shure Beta 58 A - got all of that for $2k from a Guitar Center in Gilroy, Ca.

It is a fabulous system! Truly amazing... I've been performing for over 40 years, and have been waiting for someone to design something like this the whole time... in my estimation, it is absolutely the perfect system for acoustic guitar and voice! For what it's worth, I was not a huge Bose fan prior to owning this system...

It has a curiously effective method of dispersing the sound... the effect on the audience is "kind of" being surrounded by the music, as opposed to the standard "point the speakers at the people and shoot" PA's I've used, heard and played through... with the main tower 5 or 6 feet behind me and slightly off-center, I can hear myself perfectly, with ZERO feedback issues, while the folks at a table in front of me can both hear and talk, without raising their voices much, if at all... and people who are sitting 30 or 40 feet away can hear me just about as well as I can hear myself! It really is quite different from even a really nice PA system of the standard type... the sound even seems to work it's way around corners!!!