The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-29-2012, 09:52 PM

Default I'm a new member, and I brought some good stuff!

I've been playing for 33 years, acoustic and electric. I have a Taylor K20 which I love for recording. Not so loud in a bluegrass or all acoustic ensemble, but that's ok.

I'm also a producer and own a sweet studio in New London, CT. I want to share this video I've recently done with a guitar expert comparing controlled recordings of four very nice guitars: My K20 which is all koa, a Taylor 714ce (rosewood back/sides, engelmann spruce top), a Santa Cruz Roy Southerner (mahogany back/sides, sitka spruce top), and a McPherson 4.5 (beeswing mahogany back/sides, adirondack spruce top). We show the spectral analysis of each recording so you can visibly see the difference the wood makes (we hypothesize anyway) and the tone of each guitar.

Very interested to get your feedback on this. Here's the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ej-2_p83mWg

Cheers!

Carl
Old 02-29-2012, 10:04 PM

I have to say this is one of very few "new" productions that actually looks professional. Better than lots of established productions out there. You guys are doing a great job. I hope you get the kind of traction to keep this going.

Congrats!
Old 02-29-2012, 10:07 PM

Any connection to Caruso's?
Old 03-01-2012, 02:53 AM

Great job, Carl. Very interesting analysis. I wonder how my two taylors would stack up.
Guild A-150 Savoy, T-50 Slim
Reverend PA-1
Fender Std. Tele
2 Tele partcasters
Taylor 810-LTD, 314-MCE, 717-BE
Martin HD-35, D-18, 00-28, CEO-7, OM-28, 000-18, 00015-sm, M-36
Carr Rambler
Fender ‘68 Custom Deluxe Reverb
Takamine 12-string
1966 Strat
1966 Ampeg Gemini I
1964 Kay archtop
Old 03-01-2012, 05:03 AM

Rusty, I've known the Caruso brothers for years.
Old 03-01-2012, 05:17 AM

Wow the Santa Cruz is a real nasally strummer I found...