The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-25-2011, 04:09 PM

Default What equipment is needed to play live?

Hello,

Im just starting out to play an acoustic show live. Other than an acoustic guitar with a nice pickup and eq in it, do I need any other equipment to play over a PA?

Also, should i play over the PA or should I have an acoustic amp instead?

Many thanks,
2009 Norman B18
2011 Larrivee L-03
Old 03-25-2011, 04:38 PM

All you need is a guitar cable long enough to reach the mixing board.

You don't need a amp if you're going through a PA.

Make sure you have a fresh battery in your pickup!
Old 03-25-2011, 04:54 PM

Tuner, capo, plectrum...
Old 03-25-2011, 09:45 PM

The simplest answer is you and your instrument. Many of us have played small-venue and street performed without the aid of more. As your venue grows, you will need more. If the venue has a PA then all you need is two microphones (one for you and one for a guitar) and you're set. If you have electronics in your guitar then plug in and use a mic. You certainly don't need an acoustic amp. Start slow and buy only what you need for the last or next performance and, if possible, only buy quality.
Old 03-25-2011, 09:57 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwimTrunks View Post
...Also, should i play over the PA or should I have an acoustic amp instead?
Hi ST…
I've done both…as a result I always carry an amp.

Normally I use an acoustic stage amp for me, and then I send a feed from it to the house. If it's a large venue they take my vocal directly to the house, and the guitar first to my stage amp directly behind me waist/shoulder high, and then to the PA.

Coffee shops or other small venues, I use my amp as a small PA (singing and playing through it).