The Acoustic Guitar Forum  

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Amplification (Electrified!!!)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:09 PM
tayloralf tayloralf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 778
Default Voodoo lab pedal power disaster!

Hi all

So i picked up a voodoo lab pedal power to power the 3 things on my Pedaltrain Jr. board. (Shure wireless receiver --> Peterson Tuner --> BBE acoustimax). At first I thought everything is working because everything lit up. I thought, "Cool!" But when I plug the board into my PA and plug in my guitar, I discovered that the wireless receiver was giving a huge "hum". Because the receiver goes ino the Peterson tuner, the tuner didn't work either. I tried every cable that came with the Voodoo Lab and tried every power outlet on the unit but nothing helped. Just as an experiment, I unplugged the voodoo lab and use the power adaptor that came with the Shure wireless unit and everything worked fine. I guess I should just take the voodoo lab back? Or am I missing something?
__________________
2004 214-E-L1 (sold)
2002 814CE (gone in the "Blockbuster 3-Way Trade")
2006 615CE (Blue...beautiful Gone)
2006 T5-S Tobacco burst (40th birthday present from my wife! :-)
2008 516CE (KEEPER!)
2002 NS-7
Ibanez Concord 670 (my first guitar!)
Tanglewood TSF-CE (Red)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2010, 09:29 PM
brightlight brightlight is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 136
Default

sounds like it could be a polatiry issue. make sure the polarities on the cable coming out of your power supply into your wireless system match. that's the only explanation i know enough about to explain what it could be.

If thats the case then there should be a reversed polarity adapter you can buy for your voodoolabs power supply
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:12 AM
coreybox coreybox is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mesquite (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to coreybox
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brightlight View Post
sounds like it could be a polatiry issue. make sure the polarities on the cable coming out of your power supply into your wireless system match. that's the only explanation i know enough about to explain what it could be.

If thats the case then there should be a reversed polarity adapter you can buy for your voodoolabs power supply
In addition to polarity, what is the volt requirements of the wireless unit? The PP defaults to 9v outputs, and you may need to change that in order to match what the wireless transmitter wants.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2010, 07:32 AM
tayloralf tayloralf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coreybox View Post
In addition to polarity, what is the volt requirements of the wireless unit? The PP defaults to 9v outputs, and you may need to change that in order to match what the wireless transmitter wants.
I checked my Shure wireless unit and it takes a 12V power supply. That was one of the things I checked before picking up the voodoo lab, that it supports 12V pedals.

can someone tell me more about the possibility of a polarity issue and what i can do to find out for sure?
__________________
2004 214-E-L1 (sold)
2002 814CE (gone in the "Blockbuster 3-Way Trade")
2006 615CE (Blue...beautiful Gone)
2006 T5-S Tobacco burst (40th birthday present from my wife! :-)
2008 516CE (KEEPER!)
2002 NS-7
Ibanez Concord 670 (my first guitar!)
Tanglewood TSF-CE (Red)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:43 AM
DavidE DavidE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 1,190
Send a message via AIM to DavidE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tayloralf View Post
I checked my Shure wireless unit and it takes a 12V power supply. That was one of the things I checked before picking up the voodoo lab, that it supports 12V pedals.

can someone tell me more about the possibility of a polarity issue and what i can do to find out for sure?
But did you set that particular output on the power supply to 12v?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:00 AM
tayloralf tayloralf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidE View Post
But did you set that particular output on the power supply to 12v?
hm...i don't think there is anything to set on my voodoo lab unit (Pedal Power AC). There are two pairs of 9V/12V outputs and you simply choose which one to plug into, depending if you want 9 or 12.
__________________
2004 214-E-L1 (sold)
2002 814CE (gone in the "Blockbuster 3-Way Trade")
2006 615CE (Blue...beautiful Gone)
2006 T5-S Tobacco burst (40th birthday present from my wife! :-)
2008 516CE (KEEPER!)
2002 NS-7
Ibanez Concord 670 (my first guitar!)
Tanglewood TSF-CE (Red)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:35 AM
eatswodo's Avatar
eatswodo eatswodo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,417
Default

Did you mean Pedal Power AC? If that's the case, that might be your problem - do your devices need AC, or DC?
__________________
David Eastwood
Martin 0-16NY / Rickenbacker 650D / Washburn J12SNA / Gretsch 'Way Out West' / Fluke Uke / Squier '51
Allen Melbert Pro / Airline Mandola / Yamaha Guitalele / OLP MM4 / Rickenbacker 330/12 / Douglas Gravity NT FM P90

Last edited by eatswodo; 03-23-2010 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:35 AM
talkgtr's Avatar
talkgtr talkgtr is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,282
Default

there are dip switches someplace on that unit.

here's a link to the manual

http://www.voodoolab.com/manuals/pp2plus_manual.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2010, 09:40 AM
tayloralf tayloralf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talkgtr View Post
there are dip switches someplace on that unit.

here's a link to the manual

http://www.voodoolab.com/manuals/pp2plus_manual.pdf
Thanks, but I only have the original version: the Pedal Power AC rather than the Pedal Power 2 Plus.
__________________
2004 214-E-L1 (sold)
2002 814CE (gone in the "Blockbuster 3-Way Trade")
2006 615CE (Blue...beautiful Gone)
2006 T5-S Tobacco burst (40th birthday present from my wife! :-)
2008 516CE (KEEPER!)
2002 NS-7
Ibanez Concord 670 (my first guitar!)
Tanglewood TSF-CE (Red)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2010, 10:40 AM
BoB/335 BoB/335 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,340
Default

I have ALWAYS found that making a call to the Tech Support of any company is ALWAYS worth the call!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:01 AM
eatswodo's Avatar
eatswodo eatswodo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eatswodo View Post
Did you mean Pedal Power AC? If that's the case, that might be your problem - do your devices need AC, or DC?
The BBE Acoustimax requires 12V AC.

I don't know which Shure wireless unit you have, but the three models I checked at random all need 12-18V DC.

Similarly for the tuner - I checked a couple of Peterson models, and they required 5V DC (StroboFlip) or 9V DC (StroboStomp).

Based on that, the Acoustimax is the only device you have that can be powered by the Pedal Power AC.
__________________
David Eastwood
Martin 0-16NY / Rickenbacker 650D / Washburn J12SNA / Gretsch 'Way Out West' / Fluke Uke / Squier '51
Allen Melbert Pro / Airline Mandola / Yamaha Guitalele / OLP MM4 / Rickenbacker 330/12 / Douglas Gravity NT FM P90
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:26 AM
tayloralf tayloralf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Thank you for your help...I guess the voodoo lab is going back to the store. Out of curioristy, is there something else out on the market (power supply for pedal boards) that can do what I need?
__________________
2004 214-E-L1 (sold)
2002 814CE (gone in the "Blockbuster 3-Way Trade")
2006 615CE (Blue...beautiful Gone)
2006 T5-S Tobacco burst (40th birthday present from my wife! :-)
2008 516CE (KEEPER!)
2002 NS-7
Ibanez Concord 670 (my first guitar!)
Tanglewood TSF-CE (Red)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-23-2010, 11:36 AM
eatswodo's Avatar
eatswodo eatswodo is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,417
Default

The Voodoo Labs Pedal Power 2 Plus should do what you need, although it might be overkill for you. It's DC only, but it has an AC outlet built in which you could plug your BBE power supply into.

Don't know if it will fit in a Pedaltrain Jr, though.

http://www.voodoolab.com/pedalpower_2.htm
__________________
David Eastwood
Martin 0-16NY / Rickenbacker 650D / Washburn J12SNA / Gretsch 'Way Out West' / Fluke Uke / Squier '51
Allen Melbert Pro / Airline Mandola / Yamaha Guitalele / OLP MM4 / Rickenbacker 330/12 / Douglas Gravity NT FM P90
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2010, 01:57 PM
in2dblues in2dblues is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Smile Original Pedal Power Dip Switches (Hope this helps)

From what I understand the Original Pedal power has Dip switches on the underside. If they are in the ON position it is for the 9 volt supply, if the switch is in the OFF position it is for 12 volt supply. (Which is the complete opposite of the Pedal Power 2 version).

Check out this Voodoo Lab discussion link re: Original Pedal Power:

http://www.voodoolab.com/forum/viewt...7&t=521&p=1328
Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Amplification (Electrified!!!)

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Loading

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=