The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-03-2010, 12:07 PM

Default Need a suggestion for a new guitar

I've been playing guitar for about 20 years now, my background is primarily in blues and rock music with a little classical study. I've recently been getting into Merle Travis, Chet Atkins, Tommy Emmanuel, that style of playing.

I currently play on a low end Taylor Dreadnought and really enjoy it. I can hardly imagine a better value for the price, no complaints really. First time I can actually say that about a guitar I've owned.

Here's my dilemma - I'm finding it very difficult to get my thumb around the neck to make some of the chord shapes. I never thought of myself as having particularly small hands, but after seeing the way some of these songs are actually played I'm thinking otherwise. I know a bit of practice is involved, and I can say its getting slightly easier with time, but I'm still cheating a bit.

Its very difficult to imagine this would have ever felt like a natural thing for me to do. That's why I'm thinking about a smaller scaled guitar.

I've looked into a few of the Maton models but I'd have to do quite a bit of driving to get to a place that actually sells them. I noticed Taylor and Martin make a few smaller models but the ones I saw seemed a bit cheap, almost like a beginner or child's guitar.

My ideal situation would be a guitar that is easier for me to play (smaller scale), still has good tone and costs no more than about $2000 USD. Optionally I'd like a cut-away and built-in electronics but those are not crucial.

Looking forward to seeing what you guys think.
Old 03-03-2010, 12:25 PM
Charter Member

Hi Chaduke…
First of all, hello and welcome to the forum! We are glad to have a seasoned veteran player here.