The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-08-2010, 09:49 PM

Default Bolt-on or Dove-Tail?

OK still doing my homework before I decide. I want to say the bolt-on is an easier option but is it as simple as that. My buddy tells me go with the dove-tail, he is a woodcrafter by trade and I would have guessed his response and I did. Any thoughts? Also, I think I am leaning towards the stew-mac over the lmi or bluescreek. Yeah, neah? Thanks so much for any input. Scott

Taylor GSrc K&K pure- joy
Breedlove OM/SM Atlas Retro
Martin LXME- indespinsable
Alvarez- 50 smackers

www.austintistic.blogspot.com
Old 02-09-2010, 06:00 AM

With some of the problems I have had with my latest guitar I will, in the future, see MT necks as a positive sales point. And the Taylor method seems the best. And I doubt that any more than .1 % of us could ever tell the difference between a dovetailed neck over a MT neck.

JackL
Old 02-09-2010, 06:18 AM

Hi Scott,