The Acoustic Guitar Forum  

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-24-2009, 06:15 PM

Default Takamine or Seagull?

I'm a beginner about to buy my first acoustic/electric. I've narrowed my decison down to two guitars:

Takamine G Series 340C @ $379 or

Seagull S6 Original Q1 @ $529

I know this may not be an "apples to apples" comparison because the Seagull is $150 more but that's where I find myself after looking, playing and listening to different guitars. I can afford to buy the Seagull if it is really worth the extra money but I'm trying to decide if it makes sense to do this. Because I'm a beginner, I don't have the experience & expertise to compare and contrast these from a player's perspective. I'd appreciate any comments/guidance you can provide. Thanks.
Old 10-24-2009, 06:21 PM

If you plan on plugging in.....Takamine hands down.

Takamine Santa Fe, Alvarez 5056, Alvarez 5053,Yamaha FG-300, Yairi DY53 1990 (Pecan), Spirit Dreadnought, Yamaha Classical....we wont even start on the electrics.
Old 10-24-2009, 06:23 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by musical5 View Post
If you plan on plugging in.....Takamine hands down.
I agree with the above. But if you are planning on playing acoustically, I think the Seagull S6 is a better sounding guitar. In fact the S6 is not only a great guitar to learn on, it's a great keeper even once you become accomplished.

Regards, Glenn
Old 10-24-2009, 06:25 PM

Do you have any friend or acquaintance who plays who can go shopping with you, and might be able to point out any potential issues from a "player's perspective" (as you say)?

If you haven't done so already I'd also make sure to have someone else - if not a friend, at least the salesperson - play both for you so you can just listen and concentrate on how they sound.

Good luck!
Old 10-24-2009, 06:27 PM