The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 02-21-2008, 01:29 PM

Default Best Pickup for Resonator

I have a Regal Duolian biscuit bridge guitar that I've been mic-ing with a Shure Beta SM-57. Does someone in the forum have experience with a good pickup on a steel-bodied resonator like this? I want to capture the resonator sound.

I've been reading about Fishman and K&K resonator pickups - I have a lot of experience with Fishman products, and none with K&K.

Thoughts?

- mike

Playing a resonator guitar is kind of like putting strings on a chrome-plated garbage can, then hitting it with a baseball bat - only it usually doesn't sound as good as that.
Old 02-21-2008, 01:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tagmike View Post
I have a Regal Duolian biscuit bridge guitar that I've been mic-ing with a Shure Beta SM-57. Does someone in the forum have experience with a good pickup on a steel-bodied resonator like this? I want to capture the resonator sound.

I've been reading about Fishman and K&K resonator pickups - I have a lot of experience with Fishman products, and none with K&K.

Thoughts?

- mike
My '29 National Style O had already been restored by Don Young and McGregor Gaines when I bought it, and they had also installed a Highlander pickup under the biscuit and it does sound very good. Very warm and full and not overly steely or clanky. It requires a battery but mine has the battery in a little box that sits on the floor or you can belt clip it to your belt or strap or whatever.

I don't believe it's a preamp...it's just to house the 9 volt battery.

You can install the output jack in the lower F hole like Mark Knopfler does it. I wouldn't drill a hole in the side of the guitar or anything radical like that!