The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-22-2007, 06:59 AM

Question Homemade Sound Port[s]

OK, I've been inspired by all I've read here, and I'm ready to do my own soundport on a decent sounding but not rare old Kay, so if I botch it, it's no great loss. I got some good feedback on this topic last time I posted, but now my Q. is more specific. Where, exactly, is the prime spot on the upper bout to drill such a port, so that I, as the player, get the best sound ? Specifically, I am thinking about drilling, in some sort of pattern, a series of 1/4 inch holes, until I get good sound projection. But where is the maximally effecive spot to do so? I hold the guitar in an average tilt position.

I am an OK woodworker, and besides, this isn't fine luthiery, but are there any specifics I should keep in mind? Thanx in advance to all you experienced soundporters.
Old 12-22-2007, 07:09 AM
Charter Member

Assuming that you can put the soundport anywhere you like without cutting through some structural component that would weaken it, then take note of where you hold the guitar in your normal playing position, AND where you hold your head when you normally play, so that the soundport will point directly at your ear. If you turn your head toward the neck when you play, it may make more sense to put the soundport in the waist than at the upper bout, or you can cover your bases by soundports in both locations, an option I've seen on several guitars.

Guitars:'07 Circa OM, '09 Bashkin 00-12fret, '10 Circa 00 12-fret, '17 Buendia Jumbo, '17 Robbins R.1, '19 Doerr Legacy Select, '12 Collings 000-28H Koa. Pre-War guitars: '20 0-28, '22 00-28, '22 000-28. Mandolins: '09 Heiden Heritage F5, '08 Poe F5 , 1919 Gibson F-4, '80 Monteleone Grand Artist mandolin, '83 Monteleone GA (oval),'85 Sobell cittern.
Old 12-22-2007, 07:40 AM
AGF Sponsor