The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-19-2014, 12:39 AM

Default Anyone have a chance to compare GS mini models?

Hi I'm new to the AGF and there is a wealth of information. I was interested in a Taylor GS mini both as a travel guitar or something to just dink with that I can share with others when they come over. I guess its just an excuse to get another guitar.

Has anyone played the Holden Village GS mini and the GS Mini Koa FLTD - what are you impressions? I recently played a Koa FLTD and I was amazed for such a small size guitar. I've played a Mahogany vs Sitka top - I'd choose the mahogany. If it was between the mahogany vs koa - I'd choose the koa. But its tough to try the Holden Village model since no one I know owns one. I'm intrigued by the Engelmann top.

Also, have you had problems travelling with it as carry on - a lot of the airlines use smaller planes nowadays.

Thanks.

Last edited by D28A1941; 12-19-2014 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Added a question
Old 12-19-2014, 04:47 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by D28A1941 View Post
Hi I'm new to the AGF and there is a wealth of information. I was interested in a Taylor GS mini both as a travel guitar or something to just dink with that I can share with others when they come over. I guess its just an excuse to get another guitar.

Has anyone played the Holden Village GS mini and the GS Mini Koa FLTD - what are you impressions? I recently played a Koa FLTD and I was amazed for such a small size guitar. I've played a Mahogany vs Sitka top - I'd choose the mahogany. If it was between the mahogany vs koa - I'd choose the koa. But its tough to try the Holden Village model since no one I know owns one. I'm intrigued by the Engelmann top.

Also, have you had problems travelling with it as carry on - a lot of the airlines use smaller planes nowadays.

Thanks.