The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-15-2013, 06:29 PM

Default Gypsy Jazz/Django style

Ok, So my musical journey has taken me to Fingerstyle blues and Jazz standards and I've been dabbling in percussive for the last two years. And now, I'm really moved by Gypsy Jazz. I'm looking for a course I can go through in 3 months or so that would give me 3-4 good gypsy standards and would be fairly systematic in terms of giving me some "hook" for the theory. Any recommendations?
1950s Martin Baritone Uke
A prototype of something you're likely to drool over.

9 yr old boy learning drums, 5 yr old girl who likes to groove with the beat, a music-loving toddler, 1 patient and amazing wife.
Old 06-16-2013, 01:06 AM

It's a great style and there are scores of wonderful players. These days there are loads of great books, DVDs, and online courses. Get yourself over to djangobooks.com and check out the forum. You'll uncover all the direction you need there, I'm sure.

Kind regards
Derek

My acoustics:
  • Tanglewood TW-60
  • Manouche 'Moreno' Modele Jazz
  • 2006 Martin 000-15
  • Tanglewood TW-40
  • Furch D32-SM
  • Michael Messer Lightning
Old 06-16-2013, 03:43 AM

It all begins with Django, of course, and transcribing a few original Hot Club tracks would be my recommendation.
Get the melodies under your fingers to begin with - most are pretty simple, and the chords are too. Django's solos are pretty fiendish of course, but they all spring from that simple foundation.