The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-20-2017, 10:06 AM

Default Line 6 Pod?

I'm new to guitar and trying acoustic and electric. I want to experiment at home with getting different electric sounds I might recognize from others' work, but don't want to use a modeling amp, or invest in individual pedals, and don't want to spend a bunch of money.

Toward that end, I'm looking for input on which Line 6 Pod-type product would best meet my needs, as there have been changes over the years, and there are many different models (XT, Pro, V.2, Mobile, etc.), so the correct choice is not apparent, and the various videos and print info sources are not that helpful on my issue of which to purchase over another.

Assume I already know most people hate the Pod, there are way better products, all cheap modelers but especially the Pod have excessive latency, etc. I'd like to try a Pod and want to know which year(s)/model(s) would best meet my elementary needs now (<$200 used range), with maybe a little room to grow (but not leaving the house).

I see Pods being played into computers and, apparently, out of the computer's speakers - is it possible to play them through an amp, as well?

Any input appreciated.
Old 05-20-2017, 11:06 AM

I've never heard a pod I liked, but there are alternatives:
The 50 watt version is $199 new. Acoustic and electric amp,
USB interface, multiple effects and power stages, editable patches, etc...

https://youtu.be/-S_dBTK9Boo
Old 05-20-2017, 11:17 AM

i have the pod 2.0 kidney shape. it has a wealth of sounds and many people love them and have recorded with them. i have two friends who use them, one the pod xt and the other a 2.0 like mine, in live situations as well as recording. they use them thru amps, and, direct in thru their audio interfaces. they also use them thru the PA system when live.

you can find most of them used at a good price.