The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 11-07-2016, 11:51 PM

Default 1st Guitar Build; Advice/Suggestions

Hi all,

New to the forum. I have been a long time guitar player, however, this will be my first build. I am a complete newbie with a small space in my garage and limited tools with a great desire to complete this guitar and hopefully many more. (Standard Steel String Flat Top; Hopefully an archtop one day down the road).

My work is an on call situation which limits me from taking a regularly scheduled class, however, very interested in working with a luthier/teacher in the Orange County area on a one on one basis if that opportunity presents itself.

If not my plan is to purchase Guitarmaking, tradition and technology by William R. Cumpiano and do my very best at going at it on my own. Look forward to posting progress pics as well as gathering knowledge from this great site.

If there is anyone in the OC area that would ever like to get together or is open to teaching/building together let me know. Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Brendon
Old 11-08-2016, 09:55 AM

Hey Brendon, welcome to the forum.

I used the Cumpiano book for my first build, very good book I still use it as reference.

My advice for what it's worth is to make sure you don't forget to have fun.
It's not an easy project, you're going to make some mistakes. Don't worry about it, just call them features and move on.

Be sure to post lots of pics and ask any questions you want. The people here are extremely talented and are always willing to help.

SA
Old 11-11-2016, 11:28 AM

Hi Brendon - greetings from one new forum member to another! I've just joined, although I've been lurking and reading for a couple of months.