The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 08-04-2016, 04:48 AM

Default Mastering recordings

I am doing some recording and will eventually have a CD that needs mastering...can anyone tell me how mastering affects a recording...this is all finger style celtic style music. The CD, when completed will not be for sale, I will have a lot of copies to give away...I am not a professional musician and don't want to be...just want to create the best sounding CD I can...kind of a "legacy" or something like that. I am recording in a professional studio with Raymond Gonzales...who is a professional musician and has been recording for years.
Old 08-04-2016, 05:25 AM
Guitar Gourmet

Mastering serves three purposes for the recording:

1. The mastering engineer is a final pair of ears to listen to your product and detect any mistakes before the recording is set in stone.
2. The mastering phase is where what was recorded is adjusted to what is expected, ie. the expectations of the audience. If all albums in you genre right now have certain frequency response and compression signatures, a mastering engineer who is familiar with your genre will adjust your recording to expectations. If he is unable to, he can advise you how to adjust your recordings to allow him to do so. For example, if your recording engineer monitored on dull monitors and as a result created overly bright mixes, the mastering engineer can rein that in and give things a smoother sound.