The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 10-26-2016, 11:18 AM

Default Cordoba Fusion 12 vs 14 tonal differences?

I'm new to acoustics and have decided I want a nylon cutaway crossover. I have my choices narrowed down to the Yamaha NTX1200R (a distant third in the running, primarily due to its thinner body, Sitka top, plastic nut and bridge, and too-narrow string spacing), a Cordoba Fusion 12, or a Fusion 14. I'm naturally drawn to the 14 because I play electrics and appreciate the additional upper-fret access. On the flipside, I read on one of these websites that the 14 doesn't sound as good or respond as well as the 12. This opinion was expressed by someone who worked for Cordoba.

I called Cordoba yesterday, and the gentleman with whom I spoke was very friendly and informative, and he said that he and most of the others there at the Cordoba headquarters in SoCal feel there is next-to-no difference in the sound between the 12 and 14.

Does anyone here have any firsthand knowledge of this topic? For instance, if there is in fact a tonal difference, what sort of difference is it? Is one bassier than the other? Brighter? More (or fewer) mids?

Besides the possible tonal difference, the other reason I''m considering a 12 over the 14 is Cordoba doesn't offer the 14 with a cedar top, not unless I go with the Jet model, which is an all-black guitar. I can, however, get a cedar-top 12 with rosewood back and sides, with the Orchestra CE.

Anyway, my apologies for the longwinded post. The gist of it is, simply, what (if any) tonal differences are there between the Cordoba Fusion 12 and 14 models?
Old 10-26-2016, 12:09 PM
Charter Member