The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-04-2017, 08:25 AM
Charter Member

Default High End builders compared to the big three mass builders

I know I will get some responses to this that say "a Martin sounds like a Martin" and a "Collings sounds like a Collings"...apples to oranges and all that.

But, I am curious. I have been playing for 4 years and have finally come to the point where I can tell the difference between makers signature tone and have firmly developed my preferences. I have a 000-18 that I absolutely love.

I go to the few stores around me and play guitars pretty often, but have never been in a store that carries Collings, Huss and Dalton, Bourgeois, ect. and even if I did they are so out of my price range I probably wouldn't bother the shop staff to get one out for me.

I am curious if people have opinions about how the tone of some of these high end smaller builder's guitars compare to the tone of Martin, Taylor, and Gibson since I have played many examples from those. For example the _____ tone is a little brighter than ________, but not as much as _______.

Thanks for indulging my curiosity.
Old 11-04-2017, 08:48 AM

Default tone comparison

Many will differ with me on this, but I find, tonally, the differences between individual guitars are greater than the difference between makers. Meaning, I draw my conclusions based on the particular instrument, not upon the manufacturer.

Fay OM Sinker Redwood/Tiger Myrtle
Sexauer L00 Adk/Magnolia For Sale
Hatcher Jumbo Bearclaw/"Bacon" Padauk
Goodall Jumbo POC/flamed Mahogany
Appollonio 12 POC/Myrtle
MJ Franks Resonator, all Australian Blackwood
Blackbird "Lucky 13" - carbon fiber
'31 National Duolian
+ many other stringed instruments.
Old 11-04-2017, 09:23 AM