The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 11-03-2014, 07:59 PM

Default DAW Metronome vs Time Signature Conundrum

Just wondering how many folks here on the AGF have experienced this little frustration.
Here's the chronology.
I'm a home recording newbie so today I set up a new project in Logic Pro X to experiment with stereo imaging/mic placement for recording solo acoustic guitar. A brief excerpt from my own arrangement of Luis Bonfa's "Manhã de Carnaval" seemed like a good musical choice to work with. So after labelling and record enabling my audio tracks I input the bpm (162), key (Am), and time signature (6/8) into the control bar. However; when I pressed R to start recording the metronome spit out a rapid fire 12 click count-in that made me dizzy. Turns out most DAWs can only work off quarter notes as the bpm measurement. Who knew? Probably a great many more experienced home recordists. Fortunately, I've been a working musician/guitar teacher for my entire adult life (ploughing through the last chapter now) so realized the problem pretty quickly and set the time signature to 6/4 to get the right number of ticks per measure. The other option in this instance was to set the bpm to 54 (beats 1 and 4 pretending to be quarter notes as opposed to dotted quarters). Given the workarounds I realize this is not really a big deal but it sure was annoying at the time. I'd love to hear how others deal, or have dealt with this conundrum.

Trevor
Old 11-03-2014, 08:25 PM
Charter Member

I don't use a metronome for recording a tune, so pretty simple for me. You could use a stand alone (not part of the computer DAW) metronome. In recording I leave the DAW (Ableton Live) beat time at it's 120 default (it is inaudible and just sets timing marks on the track in case you want to mess with it (change the tempo) post recording).