The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-17-2016, 06:59 AM
mikemo6string mikemo6string is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 77
Default Ditto X2 Loop Issues

There have been a few posts in the past about these issues. I thought I'd bring this up on the forum again, and see what other folks are experiencing now.

I loop my guitar/vocals, always live with no pre-records. The issues I've had with the looper are basically twofold. The unit makes pops when hitting the footswitch to loop, and occasionally freezes up completely. TC Electronics told me to upgrade the firmware, which I did, but the two issues persist. They've offered no other solutions, and the unit is two years old now.

These problems are intermittent, but make it difficult to use the unit live. I've had some success with the pop issue by hitting the footswitches a few times before using the unit, after power up. Someone had suggested this might be helpful because the voltage can build up in this pedal, and hitting the switches might bleed that voltage build up off. As for the pedal freezing up suddenly, the suggestion was to toggle the little switch on the left of the pedal, and hold it in the up position until the unit resets. It usually works, but sometimes I have to unplug the whole thing.

In any case, this makes it difficult to use the unit live. I made the leap and tried it last night at my gig. It froze up. I did what I normally do... pulled it out and hooked up my JamMan Solo XT. Works every time.

I'd really like to be able to use the Ditto X2. One pedal, and a battery option. The JamMan requires two pedals (the FS3X footswitch), and has no battery option. Anyone out there having these issues, or, more importantly, not having these issues with the Ditto X2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2016, 07:14 AM
tbeltrans tbeltrans is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,131
Default

I don't know about the x2, but TC Electronics in general has a revered named, based on very high quality (and expensive) equipment, especially reverbs and that sort of thing. In recent years, as they have been making products for the lower cost end of the market, there seem to be an endless array of "issues" as reported by numerous posts in various forums, from the foot switches causing mechanical problems to firmware operational glitches. It is sad to see, and maybe they still make decent high end equipment that does not have these kinds of issues. I would simply say that it may be in your best interests to stay with what works for you.

Tony
__________________
2016 Taylor 914ce
2012 Taylor GAce-N-FLTD nylon strings
2016 Godin Multiac ACS-SA nylon string
???? Godin Multiac Encore 7 string nylon
2007 Kelday 000 12 fret
2006-2007 couple of original CA Guitars Cargos
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2016, 07:24 AM
MikeBmusic MikeBmusic is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: On the Mass/NH border
Posts: 3,973
Default

I don't use my x2 much, but never had any popping or not-working issues with it.
I do agree that not having a battery option for it limits me - I have it on my pedalboard, but would occasionally like to bring it to an open mic night, but having to plug in would complicate things.
__________________
Mike

My music: http://www.reverbnation.com/mikebirchmusic

2012 Taylor 310ce
2011 Fender CD140SCE
Ibanez 12 string a/e
73 Epiphone 6830E 6 string (evidence shows made in 71?)

72 Fender Telecaster
Epiphone Dot Studio
Epiphone LP Jr
Chinese Strat clone ($25!)

Kala baritone ukulele
Seagull 'Merlin'
Washburn Mandolin
Luna 'tatoo' a/e ukulele
antique banjolin
Squire J bass
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2016, 07:55 AM
Irish Pennant Irish Pennant is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Viola Oregon
Posts: 1,224
Default

I've had the same problems with the Ditto 2x that you have but they haven't presented themselves for some time now. I did the firmware upgrade and it seems to have helped. What I've done too is limit the use of the Ditto for home practice. My primary home looper is the older Jamman Solo with the secondary foot pedal.

Anecdotally, my Ditto seems as though it has limited RAM memory in it and if it's used too quickly in succession it will freeze up. It seems as though it needs time to clear the old memory before it will except anything new. During practice, where I record and clear loops again and again until I get it smoothly, is when the Ditto fails.

I now only use the Ditto live when I want a small foot print, battery power and a quick setup, such as open mic or a shared sets gig.

As for the popping, I don't remember how I got past that but it's not doing it anymore.

Another thing I also do, I don't know if it makes any difference, I only put batteries in it when I'm going to use it live otherwise I remove the batteries. RAM needs power to hold memory.
__________________
The Blond
The Brunette
The Red Head
The Old Lady
Goldilocks
Flipper

"Sometimes I play a song I never heard before" Thelonious Monk

Last edited by Irish Pennant; 12-17-2016 at 08:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2016, 12:18 PM
Petty1818 Petty1818 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,914
Default

The problem with TC seems to be their foot switches. The quality of the effects and the innovative approaches are great but the switches seem to be junk. I really don't know how pros gig with their gear. My only thought process is that a lot of them have midi or looper pedals, which means that the TC pedals are not being clicked on and off as much. I will say this though, the standard TC pedals that simply engage the effect, seem to fair much better than those effects that try to do too much (loopers, strum tempo etc).

I own a Ditto and Ditto x2 and both of them are faulty. The original Ditto stopped working properly after three tries and my Ditto x2 randomly acts up. I would never use it live. Just last night, I recorded a loop and clicked to stop it, which it did. A few seconds later, the loop started randomly playing and I could only stop it by unplugging power to the pedal. My TC HOF mini also has a loud squeal when engaged, which is a very well known issue. I don't find that TC really stand by their products in that regard. At least attempt to correct these issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2016, 04:17 PM
krisls krisls is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 497
Default

Hmmm... read many a post about the 'switch issues' with these and other TC pedals, hard to say much about that. Been using my Ditto 2 now two to three times a week for 18 months without a glitch. Nary a pop or a missed throw.

Maybe I'm lucky, dunno. Now posting this it will probably blow up mid show on NYE or sumfin annoying. Fingers crossed. Also have a Harmony Singer and no issues there either... shrug....

Kris
__________________
Keep it Simple
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2017, 12:54 PM
cheetah236 cheetah236 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Ditto X2 unreliable for live use

My Ditto X2 is scary to use live, too. I keep firmware updated but have a problem with the left switch just often enough to be untrustworthy in a live performance.

I'll hit the switch to record a layer, then hit it again which normally plays back the layer. When ready to record the next layer, I hit the switch again. This works nine out of ten times. That other time, though, hitting it to record the next layer just stops the currently playing layer as if I'd hit the right button or double-tapped the left button.

Works beautifully when it works but having it fail in front of a paying audience is too disrespectful, I think.
__________________
------------------
2011 Taylor 914CE
2008 Martin 00-18V
2014 Breedlove Parlor
2005 Yamaha AEX500NS
1998 Alvarez Yairi CY118
Line 6 L2T
Ultrasound DS4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2017, 01:51 AM
Kalani Kalani is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MOWEE
Posts: 378
Default

Been gigging with my Ditto X2 4-5 days a week now since it first came out (about 2 years?). Only problem I ever had was in the beginning---the loop would distort on playback and play at a low volume. I updated the firmware (only that one time) and it's been fine ever since. I use it quite a bit on every gig too. Definitely got (and still getting) my money's worth!

I also use TC's Polytune, Harmony Singer and Flashback and they have been flawless.
__________________
Breedlove Bossa Nova, cedar/EIR
Breedlove SC-20, cedar/walnut
Ovation Nylon LX1773
CA Cargo, CA GX
Larrivee 00-03, sitka/hog
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2017, 02:54 AM
Hurricane Ramon Hurricane Ramon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Springs Area So. Cal.
Posts: 76
Cool Loopers

.

I'm getting a Vocal Live 3 Extreme in a week . I had a Digitech GNX4 that was OK as a looper , and great for a one man solo show , it was stolen .

I've been researching these loopers a few years . Was going for the Boss RC300 and then Line 6 JM4 as the choices but the VL3X looks like it going to be my choice .

EZ :

HR


.
__________________
It started for me with Twinkle Twinkle Little Star in 54 on a Blues Harp and progressed , then life .....some death ....Evolving as I went like a small rock in a stream rounding out as I went with the flow as I go through the white waters and waterfalls of life . Life has always been interesting to me

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2017, 03:00 AM
Hurricane Ramon Hurricane Ramon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Springs Area So. Cal.
Posts: 76
Thumbs up TC Helicon Polytune Clip On Tuner

.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post
Excerpt :
I also use TC's Polytune, Harmony Singer and Flashback and they have been flawless.
I like my Polytune clip on , it's built to last .

The original battery lasted almost 6 months ,
subsequent batteries seems to die faster than the original .

EZ :

HR


.
__________________
It started for me with Twinkle Twinkle Little Star in 54 on a Blues Harp and progressed , then life .....some death ....Evolving as I went like a small rock in a stream rounding out as I went with the flow as I go through the white waters and waterfalls of life . Life has always been interesting to me

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-01-2017, 03:11 AM
NotValid NotValid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 117
Default

I've had my X2 for over a year without any problems. But if I do have any problems with electrical audio stuff I use Deoxit. If that doesn't fix it then I pull out my hammer. Even new these devices may still contain contaminates from the factory which will cause audio static or switches that are not smooth. The F5 Deoxit is also a lubricant on top of being a contact cleaner. I use it on all my new/vintage audio stuff and the proof is in the pudding, you can hear a difference. As far as the looper freezing that's a firmware issue, but then again I've had deoxit bring things back to life and fix things that it's not supposed to fix. Sometimes a bit of dirt can cause all kinds of other problems. Try this first and see if it helps. It can't hurt. Audiophiles swear by this stuff.

Reply With Quote
Reply

  The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, The Acoustic Guitar Forum
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=