The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-22-2017, 11:13 AM

Default Advice for starting them young

I've been playing guitar off and on for the past 25 years, but was mostly a "song learner" vs. a "guitar theory and skill" learner. Over the past year or so, that's shifted and I spend a good hour or so working on specific theory and application most days.

My 8 year old son LOVES to listen (to me and to recorded music), but isn't interested in playing. However, my 4 year old son is constantly joining me and asking to play the guitars.

We just got him his first real instrument - a cheap, perfectly functional ukulele - and he's been strumming, singing, and carrying it with him non-stop for a solid 4 days since it arrived.

Seeing him show interest in and excitement for making music is fantastic!

So far, he's been very happy just jammin' away and the teaching as been limited to "here's how you hold it" and "here's a single-finger C chord for Old MacDonald Had A Farm".

Have any of you worked with young children before? At this point, should I just let him play his own way unless he asks for guidance?

Any advice for good approaches that will teach him the basics while still giving him the freedom to be passionate and excited would be greatly appreciated.

Blueridge BR-160A
Blueridge BR-163A
VoyageAir VAOM-04
Fender FSR Standard Strat
Old 02-22-2017, 11:27 AM

In my experience if you play with him sometimes, he might ask you "how to do that?" That's what happened with my grandson.
As far as showing him or offering to...why not? If he declines give him time. From what you said, he probably will ask you sooner or later.
Nothing more fun than watching the discovery and going along for the ride!

Martin D18
Gibson J45
Gibson J15
Fender Copperburst Telecaster
Squier CV 50 Stratocaster
Squier CV 50 Telecaster
Old 02-22-2017, 11:28 AM