The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-28-2013, 01:41 PM

Default trouble with barre chords

I have trouble playing barre chords and tried playing 4 string F major and...its painful.

How much time does it take to learn this? And what is the right way of playing? Thanks!
Old 03-28-2013, 02:00 PM

I think I've just completed the learning phase. I've been working pretty hard at the E shape bar chord for around 6 months.

I would say at this point I have the strength and dexterity to hit it 8 times out of 10 in time. I started out with the "mini bar" 4 string version which got me through for the time being until I had the strength and accuracy for the full bar.

It took time
It wasn't exactly pleasant, but now I can move that shape all over the neck. Opened up things I never throught of (as a beginner).
Hang in there.
Gibson J-30
Walden CO500 (camper)
Fender FSR BSB Telecaster
Old 03-28-2013, 02:17 PM

Saw this on another forum today as well. You got some good answers, but it takes practice and in a very short time, bingo it comes.
Old 03-28-2013, 11:28 PM

Barre chords are a tricky thing. I have been playing my whole life and I really do not like them and almost never use them. You will find some good threads on here on using partial barre chords. I would give it a chance over the next few months and if it doesnt come, maybe you just arent built for it. I, certainly, am not. I detest them and avoid them. Partial barre chords are a great alternative.

To really master the barre chord, you need to have that first finger strong so that you can use your other fingers to hammer on and off and finger. Tommy Emmanuel makes it seem easy. It isnt.

So stick with it and build up your strength. I gave up years ago, yeh, I can do a simple barre chord, but I choose not to. They don't ring much and I like it to ring.