The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 07-09-2015, 07:58 PM

Default carbon camping

I'm really new at this, but I want to know any/all opinions on the "best" carbon fiber guitar for camping etc. To get good sound and can deal with the elements... Thank you all for your help..
Stefan
Old 07-09-2015, 08:55 PM

Welcome to the CF forum. Lot's of knowledgeable folks here - hoping they'll chime in.

I've gone camping with CF guitars and have a couple thoughts that might help:

1. When not playing, keep it in its case - people tend to trip over things around the campfire (no idea "why"), and a hardshell case offers better protection than a gig bag
2. If the guitar is equipped with electronics, remove the battery - now you can get it wet, and even take it swimming. Dry it out thoroughly inside before replacing the battery - a can of compressed air works.
3. Don't worry and have fun. CF is great that way.

One night we played duets around the campfire using two CF guitars: a Rainsong Shorty for lead and a Rainsong Parlor P12 for rhthym. I think the Shorty projected more volume, but the P12 had old strings on it, so that might have contributed to the difference.
Old 07-10-2015, 06:52 AM

To add to the above:

I'd avoid guitars that have electronics. I'd also avoid those that have open backed tuners. After that, it's a matter of size and tone. There are a lot of threads on getting the best tone at www.macnichol.com - the forum dedicated to CF guitars has a lot of history to read.
Old 07-10-2015, 08:45 AM
Charter Member

My idea of "camping" is: the motorhome parked in a nice resort, with satellite TV, heat and a/c (when needed), and a comfortable bed.

That said, my carbon fiber RainSong Shorty travels with us (by boat and RV). Because I am the only one moving it, it travels in an Access padded gig bag.