The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 02-12-2018, 08:24 PM
Charter Member

Default New piece in DADGAD, critique and title ideas welcome

Hey all,

I've been piecing together this instrumental in DADGAD for a few months now, scrapping parts here and there, rewriting others, testing new techniques while pitching others...I believe I've narrowed it down to two different takes, but am open to new arrangement ideas:

This one is the original format...more lengthy intro and "verse" sections, but with more ideas offered to an active listener. (forgive the small mistakes and string-mutes, its a tough one at times!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QKQmTHzF95U

The second version is condensed, and maybe more suited to the listener who wants the gist of the song first, and a re-listen later.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rewK-Gvp-AI

At any rate, I greatly appreciate anyone who'd take the time to offer input or potential song titles, I've thought of maybe "Mosaic" "Secret of the Desert" or "The Oasis" but nothing has stuck to me yet. Thanks AGF fam

-Award-winning songwriter/guitarist, Visual storyteller
-D’Addario, G7th and K&K Sound Artist
-Music on Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube: www.youtube.com/dustinfurlow
-New album "Serene" (Oct '23) and tablature
available at www.dustinfurlow.com
Old 02-13-2018, 07:30 AM

Hi

thanks for sharing
Well I find it nice with a good recording sound and a nice technic.
Maybe a suggestion: from my side, some parts become a bit repetitive (maybe it is also the atmosphere you to create in the tune), so probably you can try from time to time to repeat these melodies but on others areas in the neck,and it would help to create variations (by others appogiatures on open strings for example)
Anyway it is a good work!
cheers
Old 02-13-2018, 09:06 AM
Charter Member