The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 08-24-2017, 12:52 PM

Default tips to get beyond where I am now

I've been a beginner guitar player for a long time and I want to get to the next level. I am wondering if many of you advanced players were in my stage at some point in your guitar experience and might offer some advice.

Let me first give you an idea of me as a guitar player:
1) Been playing the guitar on and off for nearly 2 decades, with long stretches of hiatus during that time. I recently rededicated myself to the instrument and I really want to get to the next level.
2) I like to sing, so I've been content with being able to strum chords in rhythm to basically accompany myself.
3) I think 2) has been a hindrance because whenever I try to learn scales or music theory, I fall back into the comfort zone that is just singing songs while strumming chords. Can anyone relate to this?

What I want to do:
1) Learn scales and how you use that in doing fills and riffs. My knowledge of guitar playing so far is all based off just memorizing chords. So it amazes me when I see someone doing fills and riffs and I wonder, are they doing that from memory or are they figuring it out on the fly?
2) I know how to play the major scales and the minor pentatonic, but I have no idea how you use that in a song. The few riff and fills I know how to do is all from someone telling, put this finger here and then here and then there, and just memorizing all of it. That can't be the way those things are done, is it?
3) I tried to get into learning this stuff from various YouTube videos, but it's just so much info and I can't seem to get any traction to stick with some learning path. And then I fall into number (3) from above.