The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 12-06-2009, 09:19 AM

Default Resonator Guitar Thoughts and Review of a Few

Hi. I'm fairly new in the guitar part of this forum, having been more known to some for ukulele related threads, but recently the guitar bug bit again. So, new thread on this that some may find interesting.

I tried the Republic steel- overview- Good resonator. Much better than the Regal wood models I was able to try. Much better. The Republic Parlor reso was also huge in sound and very nicely put together. I may still get one of those, that little parlor guitar... huge sound... good playability.. well under 1K, not a whole lot NOT to like. Really, if you're on the fence on the parlor reso, let me push you off.

Played the Dobro, one by Gibson, another by Epiphone, still both Dobro, but the Epi is made overseas, the Gibson.. not sure. Gibson was nicer, Epi was not. I couldn't hear the Epi. Gibson wasn't as nice as the Republics though.

I have decided the spider bridge isn't something I like, all the biscuit bridges were better sounding to me, the spider gives it that nasal quality that bluegrassers like though, but not for me.

National Guitars. My, my, my. What a difference. All of the National models I played -all- were so much nicer than the others, it's...it's.. weird. Something in the tone department on those that is special. I suppose one could just buy a National cone and biscuit.... maybe. Even the Model D, spider bridge, had that thing .

Models played-

Reso Rocket Baritone- really an interesting instrument, very low, but a growl like Leon Redbone's voice. Oh yes.

Reso Rocket- same, but normal reso, yet the tone was outstanding. Not something I'd get tired of, not grating, tone, tone tone.

All the Nats had tone, odd to say regarding a reso, but it is, to my ear, what it is.