The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-16-2018, 07:37 PM

Smile Playability and Price

I'm a complete newbie to guitars and this forum. I'm 64 and have always wanted to play the guitar so I'm learning. Reading these forums, seems there's a lot to learn about listening to a guitar as well as playing it, which brings me to my question: I assume a $2000 - $5000 guitar *sounds* that much better than a $300 guitar. But is it that much more *playable*. In other words, would a $2000 Martin be that much more playable (easy to play, whatever) than my $300 Yamaha?

I know some of this is subjective but I'm honestly wondering if I should go ahead and invest in a nicer guitar as I learn or keep that as a reward for later.
Old 02-16-2018, 07:45 PM

Hi Boto, Welcome to the AGF. Great question. Many $300 guitars can be setup to play the same as a $3000 guitar based on what you find is comfortable.

As far as tone goes, the best thing to do is go to some guitar stores and try out a bunch of different guitars at different price ranges and see what appeals to you.
Old 02-16-2018, 07:46 PM

Find a guitar that you enjoy the sound of and that is within your budget. Then invest in a good setup. I have a 20 year old Martin D17 and a set up made it fun and easy to play and my $250 Takamine was easier to play prior to the set up.

You might also check out a Taylor Academy Series as they get great reviews and i can attest that my Tayor plays like a dream. The money spent on a good set up will not be wasted.
Old 02-16-2018, 07:58 PM
Guest 1511