The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-28-2017, 08:28 AM

Default sitka vs adirondack

I'm an amateur builder, having built 5 guitars, 2 mandolins, 2 ukes, and 1 octave mandolin, over a period of about 4 years. The first 3 guitars have sitka tops, the last 2 have adirondack tops. The sitka tops have very tight lines, indicating old growth to me. The adirondack not very tight indicating a younger tree. The adi seems to make a better tone, but it seems this wood doesn't have the strength of the old growth wood, and with medium gauge strings bridge will roll slightly towards the neck early on, causing the action to become higher. These are all OM style guitars with Martin style X bracing. Does anyone here agree or disagree with this?
Old 08-28-2017, 09:46 AM

You might want to consider getting into doing deflection testing. There are lots of studies that show that there really is not correlation between the tightness of annular rings and stiffness. I've handled enough tops by know to know this anecdotally. I tend to organize them in groups of stiffness and one of the stiffest pieces of top wood I have is a Carpathian top with very wide grain lines.

So my guess is that you probably built these guitars to a planned thickness? That would explain why tour red spruce tops are deforming. Build to a planned stiffness instead. If the top is floppy then it can be left thicker to get the desired stiffness.
Old 08-28-2017, 10:45 AM

Spruce is spruce, there's too much variation within each species to make any meaningful characterizations.
There is a relationship between density and stiffness that applies to all spruce.